image0 (11).jpeg

Worcester City Women FC 1 - 2 Crusaders Women FC

Jan 9, 2022

Getting to Know: Sydney Harris

Feb 24, 2022

Welcome to our new series “Getting to Know”, where we speak to a Worcester City Women FC player to learn more about them.

 

In the first installment of “Getting to Know”, we spoke with City winger Sydney Harris.

How did you get into football? What age did you start playing?                    

 

I started playing football when I was at Primary School when there was a mini-kickers session and I absolutely loved it and have been hooked ever since.

Who have you played for?

I started playing on Saturday mornings for Ferndale and continued when the club became Wyre Forest Phoenix. When I was 16 I then started playing on a Sunday as well for Cookley Boys for 2 years. I really enjoyed playing with boys as it helped to prove to them that girls can play football as well. At first they didn’t think I would be good enough but I soon earned their respect and I learned a lot about mental toughness by being in that team.

 

Unfortunately when I was 17 I had an ACL injury and couldn’t play football for 2 years. I was at Heart of Worcestershire college at the time and was able to focus on rehabilitation. I also started to coach football then too, which is something I really enjoyed.

 

 

image2 (3).jpeg
image5.jpeg
image4.jpeg

What do you enjoy the most about playing football?

 

I love having a new challenge every week and for me it’s all about achieving something with my teammates together. Football is so good for my mental health and so I just love playing the game.

What do you love most about playing for WCWFC?

 

For me it’s the fact that the club has a more serious approach and has a clear objective to be professional. I’ve never been at a club like this before where the women’s teams are taken so seriously and have such high standards. I love that as a player for WCWFC it isn’t just a hobby for you, but you have to have high standards and commitment.

Away from football, what do you do?

 

I work as a carer in a Residential Home, which is really challenging but rewarding at the same time. I work 3 / 4 night shifts a week so I have to be really disciplined with my routine, make sure I eat the right things at the right time and get enough sleep. Exercise is my way to de-stress so as well as football training I also go to the gym 3 times a week and when I’m not playing football or in the gym I spend time with my friends and family.

You’ve got two sisters and three brothers who are all football mad - what’s it been like growing up in such a football crazy family?

 

Very competitive! I’ve played in the same team as sister Brooke for many years and we’ve always challenged and supported each other too. We've had so much fun playing football and shared some great memories. Back when playing for Wyre Forest we once had to share Goalkeeping duties for the team. Brooke went in goal for the first half and I played in defence, helping keep the score at 0-0 and then at half-time we swapped and I went in goal. I said to her, ‘make sure you don’t let them anywhere near this goal!’, but within 5 minutes of the second half Brooke gave away a penalty! I’ve never let her live that down!

image3 (2).jpeg
image0 (10).jpeg

What’s a day in the life of Syd Harris like?

 

Because of my work, I often start my 12 hour shift at 8pm so when I get home in the morning I get 5 / 6 hours of sleep, then go to the gym, shower and eat before going back to work again or going to training, depending on what day it is. I spend quite a lot of time preparing my food ready to eat throughout my shift too. On weekends I’m preparing for the match and chilling out with friends and family.

What do you do to relax? What are you watching on TV/Netflix at the moment? 

 

Like most people I enjoy watching TV, I’m watching Trigger Point at the moment. I also love walking my dog, Kassie, she’s a black lab and totally crazy!

Which football team do you support? 

 

Tottenham! My Mum has always been a massive Spurs fan so I followed her - COYS!

Tell us a random fact, which people might not know about you?

 

I was actually born and raised in East Ham, London, and moved to Worcestershire when I was 6. My uncle used to train Alex Iwobi when he played for Arsenal!

51853828037_2bfaae47d4_o.jpg